Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Digest

Affiliate Digest – September 15, 2020

Friday, September 18, 2020   (0 Comments)

Affiliate Digest – September 15, 2020

Dear UnidosUS Affiliates,

 

The Affiliate Digest is here with the latest webinars, resources, and publications from UnidosUS to support Affiliate organizations. 

 

 

Best,

 

Affiliate Engagement Team 

In this week’s issue

 

 

UnidosUS Events & Opportunities

TODAY IS THE DAY!  Join the 2020 UnidosUS Capital Awards Tonight!

Tune in today to our 2020 UnidosUS Capital Awards to recognize Attorney General of California, Xavier Becerra; Former Maryland Lieutenant Governor and Former Chair of the Republican National Committee, Michael Steele; and eight organizations in El Paso as they stood tall in the face of tragedy to support the city in the aftermath of the August, 3, 2019, mass shooting, among them our Affiliates. Comedian Al Madrigal will open the event, we will hear the world debut of "My People Are a Sound," a poem by Noel Quiñones, and we will enjoy an exclusive performance from Grammy Award-winning band Ozomatli. 

Join us TODAY 6–7:30PM ET| 5-6:30PM CT | 4-5:30PM MT | 3-4:30PM PT at capitalawards20.com.

 

 

National Geographic Documentary Films: BLOOD ON THE WALL Virtual Screening and Panel Discussion

National Geographic’s new feature documentary BLOOD ON THE WALL explores the internal and external influences on Mexico as it deals with the key issues of migrant caravans from Central America heading to the U.S., the dangerous but resilient traffickers fueling the cross-border drug trade and how corruption has impacted politics at every level. 

UnidosUS invites you to join the film’s Virtual Screening and Panel Discussion with filmmakers Sebastian Junger & Nick Quested, featuring UnidosUS Senior Cabinet Advisor and author Charles Kamasaki, along with Arturo Sarukhan, Former Mexican Ambassador to the U.S., Julia Preston, Former National Immigration Correspondent, The New York Times, Sindy Marisol Benavides, CEO, League of United Latin American Citizens and moderated by Cecilia Vega, Senior White House Correspondent, ABC News.

Sunday, September 20, 2020, 7:00PM ET or 7:00PM PT

UnidosUS Affiliate Tech Webinar: Disaster Preparedness & Response

Is your organization prepared to rebound after a natural disaster? Are you ready with a contingency plan?  Ensure your organization is prepared for future emergencies in timely webinar concluding a five-part series on technology. Join us THIS FRIDAY to learn what information to have on hand and how to get your organization prepared in case you need to rebound again.

Friday, September 18 at 2pm ET | 1pm CT | 12pm MT |11am PT

UnidosUS Virtual Townhall “Vote 2020: Get Ready, Get Set” Voter Education Conversation

Voting this year is coming with many variables, both known and unknown. To provide some clarity, UnidosUS is hosting the townhall “Vote 2020: Get Ready, Get Set” to educate and prepare voters with what they need to know to cast their ballot in November. Experts in the issue will talk about the different ways we can make our voices heard in our states to best suit our needs.

Join us next Monday, September 21, at 6pm ET | 5pm CT |4pm MT | 3 pm PT and share with your networks. Register for free here:

¡Adelante! 2020

Protecting Immigrant Families Campaign: Build Your Public Charge Train-the-Trainer Program

Join the PIF campaign for an informative webinar to learn best practices in developing and running effective Train-the-Trainer programs. Train-the-Trainer (TTT) programs efficiently extend the reach of public charge educators and support efforts to spread the word to the millions of immigrant families potentially chilled by the public charge regulation. TTT programs also ensure that professionals in community-based settings are well-informed and well-prepared to support clients with public charge questions. Hear from expert TTT facilitators and see highlights of PIF's new Train-the-Trainer toolkit so you can start a TTT program in your state or locality.

Wednesday, September 16, at 4pm ET | 3pm CT | 2pm MT | 1pm PT

 

Voting Resources: UnidosUS ¡Adelante! 2020 Digital Tool Kit

Register to Vote Today. Share this video  and other resources, encourage your community to register to vote.

 

Wanting to ensure that our community is integral to the success of the electoral process, we are happy to share with you the UnidosUS ¡Adelante! 2020 digital tool kit that includes videos, sample posts, and graphics you can use to invite your friends and family to participate and make our voices heard.

 

Help us spread the word! Share the digital tool kit with partners and other stakeholders so they can join us in creating urgency and awareness about civic participation! Download here.

 

Additionally, be sure to check our Affiliate-only resource page, that supports your organization in registering your community to vote

 

Citizenship Resources: UnidosUS Naturalization Digital Tool Kit

The Trump administration will raise the cost of citizenship to $1,170 in October, so it is important that all eligible permanent residents apply immediately for naturalization. To make sure members of our community are not priced out of citizenship, we are happy to share with you the UnidosUS Naturalization Digital Tool Kit  that includes an explainer video, sample social media posts, and graphics you can use to raise awareness of the drastic price increase and get people to begin their applications now. 

Help us spread the word! Feel free to share the digital tool kit with our partners and other stakeholders so they can join us in creating urgency and awareness about civic participation!Download here.

 

This Week’s Congressional & Legislative Outlook: September 14, 2020

Read the Congressional and Legislative Outlook put together by the UnidosUS Policy Team with all you need to know and watch for this week.

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Help Spread the Word in your Community: CDC’s Moratorium on Evictions

On September 4, a nationwide halt on evictions (a.k.a. moratorium on evictions) was put in place by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) to address the current public health and eviction crises.

Please help spread the word. The evictions moratorium covers nearly all rental properties, including single-family homes, mobile homes and apartments. Tenants can receive protection against eviction because of difficulty paying rent, by signing this declaration form and send it to their landlord. Tenant declaration forms are also available in Spanish and Vietnamese.

Who is protected and what tenants need to know: Please check out helpful resources from our friends at the National Housing Law Project and the National Low Income Housing Coalition in this FAQ and this fact sheet for renters.

Attention: In order to receive protection, tenants must take these two steps: 1) sign this declaration form, and 2) send it to their landlord.

UnidosUS will continuing to work with our partners to monitor the impacts of the CDC’s moratorium, and will provide updates as they become available.

 

IRS Non-Filers Tool: Help Your Clients Claim the CARES Act Economic Impact Payment

As a result of the CARES Act, consumers started to see some financial relief through EIP issued by the IRS. However, millions of individuals who do not normally file income taxes are entitled to EIP. These individuals have until October 15, 2020 to enter their information in the IRS  Non-Filers Tool to receive their payment. 

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) just released the guide Helping Consumers Claim the Economic Impact Payment: A guide for intermediary organizations. The guide contains step-by-step information for direct service and community organizations frontline staff on how to discuss the EIP with clients and determine if clients need to take action.

If you have questions about the guide please contact TaxTime@cfpb.gov.

 

UnidosUS Blog: Combating COVID-19- Our Affiliates spread the word. Wear a mask!

The use of masks has become part of our daily lives. It is now mandatory to wear them when shopping for groceries, entering a restaurant, or visiting a store. It is part of our new normal as  emerging evidence from clinical and laboratory studies shows their effectiveness. Today, we want to commend our Affiliates who are spreading the word about the importance of wearing masks, as well as educating their communities how to properly use them.

Check out other Affiliates campaign and content to promote the use of a mask!

Protect America with your UnidosUS Face Mask!

With your urgent gift to UnidosUS, we will continue to support our Affiliates through these incredibly tough times and every moment leading up to November 3, we will work hard to register thousands of voters and reach thousands more with get-out-the-vote and know-your-rights campaigns.

And to ensure you are safe while you exercise your right to vote, in appreciation of your gift of $30 or more by September 30 we will send you your very own UnidosUS face mask!

Show everyone you are Unidos in the fight for opportunity, progress, and the American Dream!

Affiliate Spotlight

UnidosUS's Affiliate The Latino Policy Forum AnalysisCOVID Impact Still Imbalanced for Latinos; 14-Day Case-Positivity Rate Three Times State Average 

The Latino Policy Forum is updating and analyzing critical state data on the health impact of COVID-19 across racial-ethnic groups in Illinois. The latest case data of COVID-19 by race/ethnicity in Illinois paint a consistent picture of the disease’s disproportionate devastation on Latinos and communities of color throughout the state.
To see these statistics updated every 14 days, visit www.latinopolicyforum.orgFor a summary of all the work that the Latino Policy Forum is doing related to COVID-19 and its impact on Latinos statewide,click here.

On Friday, September 18 (2pm ET, 1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)the Forum will convene data and health experts to discuss the data presented in this email and its implications for the Latino community, and to answer your COVID-19 questions.Click here to RSVP for this virtual event.

 

UnidosUS Affiliate Latin American Community Center: Affiliate Leaders in Action

UnidosUS Affiliate Latin American Community Center’s Executive Director and member of the UnidosUS Affiliate Council, Maria Matos’s declaration on a Census litigation on the Presidential Memorandum of July 21, 2020 played an important part in the Court’s decision.  The Court issued a decision declaring the Presidential Memorandum unlawful and permanently prohibiting the Dept. of Commerce and the Census Bureau from working towards, or giving the President any information, about the number of undocumented immigrants in each State.

The declarations were crucial to demonstrating that the Presidential Memorandum is having a harmful deterrent effect on participation in the Census, particularly among noncitizens, immigrants, and their family members.

We comment our Affiliate leaders for taking action to advance the interests of our community! If you have a story to share, please send it our way! We would love to feature you in future digest and other media!

Stay Connected with UnidosUS

 

Be sure your whole team gets the latest news, to subscribe click here

 

Follow UnidosUS on Social Media @WeAreUnidosUS

Follow UnidosUS President & CEO Janet Murguía on Twitter

Stay connected with the UnidosUS blog

 

 


more Calendar

The upcoming calendar is currently empty.

Click here to view past events and photos »

Featured Members

Online Surveys
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal