Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Digest

Affiliate Digest – June 16, 2020

Tuesday, June 16, 2020   (0 Comments)

Affiliate Digest – June 16, 2020

Dear UnidosUS Affiliates,

 

The Affiliate Digest is here, your weekly source for resources, opportunities, and news for UnidosUS Affiliates.

 

UnidosUS is lifting Affiliate stories on the UnidosUS Blog and social media in addition to sharing stories among Affiliates with this Digest. If you have a story you’d like to share, email us.

 

Best,

Affiliate Engagement Team 

In this week’s issue

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

UnidosUS Events and Updates

Janet Murguía on The Hill: Latino and Black Americans are Allies in the Fight for Racial Justice

UnidosUS continues to actively engage in the current discourse on racial justice and remains committed to actionable solutions. To continue to reaffirm the commitment of UnidosUS to this work, Janet Murguía, UnidosUS President and CEO, authored an Op-Ed titled “Latino and black Americas are allies in the fight for racial justice” that was published in The Hill last Friday.

 

“To our African American brothers and sisters, we have a saying: Tu lucha es mi lucha— your fight is my fight. We are in this fight together. We are allies in the struggle for fundamental social and economic justice in this country.”

 

You can find the full text here. Visit our website for additional statements and resources on our racial justice work.

UnidosUS Virtual Townhall: Latino Education in Time of Quarantine

Before the pandemic, Latino students were already facing achievement gaps with their peers, and distance learning has exacerbated these gaps. The town hall will examine the impact that distance learning has had on Latino students, how to address barriers equitably, and how we can plan to support all students when schools eventually reopen. Janet will give welcome remarks, and the panel of experts will include:

 

Tony Thurmond, California State Superintendent of Public Instruction

Amanda Fernandez, CEO of Latinos for Education & Trustee of the Board with the Massachusetts Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Oscar Romano, School Principal at YES Prep Gulfton in Houston, TX

 

Thursday, June 18, at 6pm ET/ 5pm CT/ 4pm MT/ 3pm PT

Please share with your staff and networks, the town hall is free and open to all!

 

UnidosUS Affiliate Five-Session Tech Series: Leveraging Technology Under COVID-19

Serving Clients Immediately, Remotely and Simply is the first in a series of webinars for Affiliates about leveraging technology in the time of COVID-19. The session presenter, Belinda de la Libertad, Managing Partner at A-Z Techs, brings her expertise and experience working with organizations recently transitioning to remote services to discuss strategies and options as your organization continues to adapt to best serve clients, particularly:

• Serving clients remotely and securely

• Recognizing client access points

• Tracking client encounters and staff activity

• Protecting staff privacy

• Activating voice and text/SMS as power tools

 

Friday, June 26 at 2pm ET/ 1pm CT/ 12pm MT/ 11am PT

 

Upcoming Webinars in the Series:

  • Low-cost hardware/software for your team
  • Collecting Data Remotely from Clients
  • Delivering Video Content to Clients
  • Security and Disaster Response

TOP

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

UnidosUS Webinar (Spanish): Cambios al Programa de SNAP Bajo COVID-19

COVID-19 is a global crisis that has impacted many Latino families. Throughout the pandemic, SNAP has played a vital role in helping these families through difficult times. Join our Spanish-language webinar “Cambios al programa de SNAP bajo COVID-19” on Thursday, June 18 from 2:30 PM - 4:00 PM ET, where experts will discuss changes to the SNAP program under COVID-19.

Thursday, June 18 at 2:30pm ET/ 1:30pm CT/ 12:30pm MT/ 11:30pm PT

 

ICYMI: NBA Virtual Roundtable: “COVID and the LatinX Community”

Our President and CEO Janet Murguía joined last week’s NBA Together Virtual Roundtable Series to discuss COVID-19’s impact on the Hispanic and Latino community and the systemic roots of inequality that have exacerbated its effects. Other participants included Puerto Rican NBA Champion and 13-year veteran J.J. Barea and host and correspondent for VICE News and contributor for Telemundo and MSNBC Paola Ramos.

 

If you were unable to join this Roundtable, check out the recording on the NBA Cares YouTube page!

TOP

¡Adelante!2020

Toolkit: Census 2020 Resources from Partners at NALEO

This Week in Immigration News: June 11, 2020

For this week’s top immigration news, read This Week in Immigration News on the UnidosUS Blog.

 

This Week’s Congressional Outlook: June 16, 2020

Read this week’s Congressional and Legislative Outlook for the week of June 16, 2020.

 

TOP

Online Learning and Resources from Partners

Funding: Bring a $25K Grant to your Community With 2020 State Farm Neighborhood Assist®

Have you ever wanted to help your community with a problem, but didn’t know where to start? Maybe it’s to refurbish a run-down park or to help the impoverished. Now, YOU have the power to fix it. State Farm Neighborhood Assist, a crowd-sourced philanthropic initiative, lets communities determine where grant funding is awarded.

 

The application is short, simple and available July 15th until2,000 submissions are reached. You can get ready using the submission guide. All you have to do is submit one cause; you don’t have to “run the program.” The Top 40 causes with the most votes will each win a $25,000 grant from State Farm!

 

Learn more by visitingwww.neighborhoodassist.com

 

Webinar: RWJF’s Academy of Health “Health, Housing & Racial Healing”

UnidosUS partner, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) is hosting a second webinar in a series highlighting sessions from 2020 Sharing Knowledge to Build a Culture of Health Conference. Everyone deserves to reside in an affordable, safe, stable home and a neighborhood that fosters well-being, but not everyone has access to such homes or the opportunity to choose where they live. During this moderated session, participants will explore how racial injustice contributes to housing inequity. Panelists will share national trends and local examples of housing policy as a historical driver of place-based inequities and examine residential segregation and economic isolation.

 

During this moderated session, participants will explore how racial injustice contributes to housing inequity. Panelists will share national trends and local examples of housing policy as a historical driver of place-based inequities and examine residential segregation and economic isolation.

 

Tuesday, June 23 at 3pm ET/ 2pm CT/ 1pm MT/ 12pm PT

 

Webinar Series: Using Tech to Collect Data: Gathering Data Virtually During Social Distancing & Beyond

Join the first webinar of the six-part series by University of Michigan’s six-session series on evaluation in community-based organizations.

During this time of social distancing, gathering data virtually is necessary. Regardless of the circumstances, electronic data collection has several advantages. This webinar will share the advantages of using technology to collect data and will cover:

1.Conducting virtual interviews and focus groups

2.Choosing between survey platforms (e.g., Google Forms)

3.Creating a survey in Google Forms

4.Distributing surveys via text message

 

June 19th, 2020 12pm ET/ 11am CT/ 10am MT/ 9am PT

 

All sessions will include free continuing education credits for social workers who join the live webinar.

 

RSVP to attend Here, or sign up to be notified when the recording is available if you can’t make it live.

 

 

Workforce Development: Passport to Success® Free Life Skills Online Curriculum for Youth

In partnership with McDonald’s, the International Youth Foundation has developed this free, game-based, mobile-optimized course to support young people ages 16 to 24 in developing work readiness skills such as time management, problem-solving, and self-confidence. PTS Explorer will help young adults learn life skills essential to the workplace and is available in English and in Spanish.

Key Features & Benefits:

·Teaches in-demand skills in a way that is engaging and accessible through game-based activities

·Includes 10 course units to teach confidence, assertiveness, time management, ethical behavior, respect for diversity, creative problem-solving, and more

·Offers up to 6 hours of content, broken into bite-sized lessons for easy, on-the-go learning. Each course unit is 30-40 minutes

·Optimized for smartphones and accessible on any internet-enabled device. Developed for low bandwidth internet

·Tested through feedback sessions with young people around the world

·Product developed at a 7thgrade reading level

·Available in English & Spanish

 

This online curriculum can help enhance your workforce development programs and provide support to your community during a time of social distancing. To Learn more, please read the fact sheetunit descriptions and FAQs.

If you are interested in accessing the curriculum for your participants, please fill out this short interest form by June 30.

 

MasterCard Prepaid Cards: Convenience, Safety and Better Financial Management

Social distancing and other important preventive measures in our everyday lives have impacted the way we handle average financial transactions. With Prepaid Cards, anyone can benefit from electronic payments no matter your credit history, bank account, or debt situation. Prepaid Cards make it possible for millions of people to receive their salary via direct deposit payments, rather than employment checks. Since they work like a bank account, there’s no debt to accrue by using them. This also makes it highly efficient to budget your payments, keep track of your spending, or receive/transfer money to/from friends and family. Plus, they provide loss or theft protection.

 

Our Partners at Mastercard have information about Prepaid Card Basics and a dedicated page where you can learn more.

 

Stay Connected with UnidosUS

 

Be sure your whole team gets the latest news, to subscribe click here

 

Follow UnidosUS on Social Media @WeAreUnidosUS

Follow UnidosUS President & CEO Janet Murguía on Twitter

Stay connected with the UnidosUS blog

 



more Calendar

The upcoming calendar is currently empty.

Click here to view past events and photos »

Featured Members

Online Surveys
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal